Arkansas is a great family trip destination in the country with its state parks, diverse wildlife, and rich history. The road trips to Diamond Mine, Buffalo National River, or to Petit Jean State Park are always filled with excitement, so having car in Arkansas can be very useful. Before you use your vehicle though, you must secure proof of auto insurance. How? Read Arkansas’s auto insurance coverage requirements, discounts, rates, and rules below.
Arkansas Car Insurance Requirements
The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Arkansas are as follows:
Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person
Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person
Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
Rules and Regulations
Monthly Insurance Verification
The Office of the Motor Vehicle can validate your auto insurance coverage by checking your records on an electronic database. If your name does not show up on the database, you may then be required to submit a copy of your proof of car insurance to have your records updated.
Driving through Arkansas without carrying your proof of insurance may result in suspension of your car registration and fines. To reinstate your car registration, you must buy the required minimum insurance coverage in Arkansas, pay the reinstatement fees, and submit your proof of insurance to the Department of Finance and Administration.
On the Road
Expect an officer to knock on your car window during traffic stops. An officer might ask you to provide proof of auto insurance, but if you do not have it with you, you could be charged with a $25 fine.
You must also file Form SR-1 in the event of vehicular accident which caused:
- Bodily injuries
- Over $1,000 property damage
For cases involving car accidents, your proof of liability insurance must be attached to your Form SR-1. This form must be verified by your insurer to prove that you did possess the required minimum auto insurance coverage when the incident happened.
Grounds for Insurance Policy Cancellation
Your insurer may cancel your policy within the first two months of your auto insurance. Once the grace period is over and if your insurer wants to cancel your policy, they must have any of the following reasons:
- Non-payment of your premium
- Driving Under Influence verdict
- Use of an automobile to commit homicide
- 3 cases of reckless driving or over-speeding
- Insurance fraud
Your insurance provider must give you a 10-day notice as to when they will cancel your policy due to non-payment and a 20-day notice for any the above-mentioned reasons.
Optional Car Insurance in Arkansas
The types of optional car insurance coverage in Arkansas include:
- Underinsured/uninsured motorist
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Arkansas is a “no-fault” state, so getting a Personal Injury Protection coverage is recommended. This also means that victims of a car crash should receive insurance benefits regardless of whoever is at fault for the incident. This policy provides coverage for person(s) riding in or driving your vehicle if they do not have Personal Injury Protection on their own policies. It can also cover pedestrians who are involved in the crash, but your PIP coverage does not include car repair and maintenance fees.
In Arkansas, it is mandatory for insurers to offer Personal Injury Protection coverage which could be any of the following:
- Lost income coverage – $140 per week
- Medical benefits – $5,000
- Accidental death benefits – $5,000 per person
- Note that these coverages are set on minimum limits.
- Factors that can Influence Rates
- In Arkansas, these are the factors that can influence your auto insurance premiums:
- Driving record
- Credit history
- Car’s make/model/year
- Location of your parking area
- Discounts you may obtain
- Marital status and gender
- Deductibles such as the expenses you paid for a claim using your own money
- Auto Insurance Discounts in Arkansas
- A low-cost auto insurance is obtainable in Arkansas through the following discounts:
- Clean driving record
- Student with B+ average or higher
- Multi-car owner
- Home insurance policy holder
- Defensive driver
- Passing the driving course certified by the Office of Driver Services
- College graduate discount
Having a clean driving record is the best way to save money on your insurance purchase. To know more available discounts that may be offered in Arkansas, check with your insurance provider.
Arkansas Car Insurance Discounts
While you are required to carry car insurance, it isn’t required to spend an arm and a leg for your protection. Comparing is always an easy way to save, but it is certainly not the only way.
Here are some of the many car insurance discounts offered in the state:
- Loyal Customer
- Safe Driver
- Good Student
- Paid in Full discount
Be sure to ask your insurance agent about these discounts and others that you might be interested in.
Arkansas Car Insurance Quick Facts
Most Stolen Cars 2013 – Below is a list of the ten most stolen cars in Arkansas for 2013:
- 2004 Chevrolet Pickup
- 1997 Ford Pickup
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 1998 Dodge Pickup
- 1995 GMC Pickup
- 1998 small size Chevy Pickup
- 2001 Chevy Impala
- 1997 Honda Civic
- 2012 Toyota Camry
- 1999 Jeep Cherokee
Proof of Insurance
As you title, register, and renew your vehicle registration, you must provide your proof of insurance to the officials. Arkansas also conducts monthly insurance verification to update their records on the database. All of registered vehicles in Arkansas must show the following information on the electronic database in order to validate one’s proof of car insurance:
- Name of the insurance provider
- Insurance policy number
- Policy limits
- Policy period
- Name and address of the insured motorist
- Car’s make and model
Other Car Insurance Options
If your insurer rejected your car insurance coverage application, you may choose to seek coverage with the Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan. This plan features all auto insurance providers in Arkansas, so you might have a better chance at finding the right insurer.