Whether you’re in the Rocky Mountains or the farming areas of Yuma or Lima, car insurance is required in the state of Colorado. The insurance requirements in place are designed to provide protection to the more than 5 million people who call the state home, many of whom are licensed drivers.
Colorado Car Insurance Requirements
In Colorado, there are minimum requirements for auto insurance. You must carry at least the minimum amounts of insurance on your vehicle at all times. Proof of coverage must be provided to any law enforcement officer upon request, and immediately following an accident, whether or not you are at fault.
State-required coverage laws mandate that your policy include:
- Bodily Injury coverage of $25,000/$50,000 per accident
- Property Damage coverage of $15,000
- Uninsured Motorist coverage of $25,000/$50,000 per accident
- Medical Payments, or Med Pay, of $5,000.
Remember –these are only the required amounts of coverage. You can always opt for higher coverage amounts or more coverage features if you like. With the extreme costs of an accident, opting for higher coverage amounts may be in your best interest.
Optional Car Insurance in Colorado:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Roadside Assistance
- Rental car coverage
It is a good idea to talk to an insurance professional concerning these options types of insurance and whether or not they can be beneficial to you.
Factors affecting Colorado Car Insurance Rates
It can be frustrating to learn that your neighbor saved $400 per year by switching their insurance while your prices increased by $130. However, insurance is not a one-size-fits-all concept. Numerous factors influence the amount of money you’ll spend to stay within the laws of the state. Those factors include:
- Marital Status
- Driving Record
- City of residence
- Previous insurance record
Because of the many factors influence car insurance rates, it is always a good idea to take the time to compare different insurance options.
Colorado Car Insurance Discounts
Although car insurance is required throughout the state, paying more for your coverage is not a requirement. There are many ways to save money on the cost of your car insurance, including with Colorado car insurance discounts.
Multi-Policy Discounts: Combining your auto, home, life, etc. insurance policies can help you qualify for multi-policy discounts.
Affinity: This special discount offers members of qualifying organizations a 3% discount on auto insurance.
Student at School: Do you have a student who is 100 miles or more away from home to attend school? There’s a 10% discount for that.
Student Discounts: Most Colorado car accidents occur from young drivers between the ages of 17- 27. This is the reason that drivers in this age bracket pay more for their coverage. However, students who do well in school and earn certain grade points qualify for 20% discounts.
AFV: An Alternative Fuel Vehicle may also help you qualify for discounts, if you are driving one.
In addition to these state-specific discounts, you can also win yourself better deals with discounts offered for safe driving, loyal customers, by paying quarterly or yearly, and more. It is in your best interest to take advantage of each and every discount possible to lower your insurance costs.
Colorado Car Insurance Quick Facts
Proof of insurance must be required in your vehicle at all times. Once you choose an insurance company and policy and pay your premium you will receive an insurance card which serves as proof of insurance. The glove box is a good place to store this card for easy and safe access.
If you are found to be driving without the required insurance coverage there are penalties. Car insurance is in place to keep your protected, and the laws are greatly enforced. If you break these laws, expect to pay the price. A fine of as much as $500 can be endured if you are found to be driving without car insurance. Points will be added to the driving record, and you may be required to attend driving class. It is also possible for your drivers’ license to be revoked or suspended if you cannot provide proof of coverage. Another penalty- your insurance rates will increase when you finally do make the car insurance purchase.