It just feels good to be in Florida. The near-perfect weather year-round, the beautiful palm trees and of course the beaches, everglades and lagoons all make the state one which is loved by residents and visitors alike. If you are a resident, it is important to know that car insurance is required by law in the state. Should you be involved in an accident or get stopped by an officer and be unable to provide proof of coverage there could be serious penalties to face. Florida is an amazing state, but things become quite dangerous when people drive without car insurance.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Florida has set minimum requirements for car insurance in the state. Each driver must oblige to these requirements.
- $10,000/$20,000 per accident bodily injury coverage
- $10,000 Property Damage coverage
- $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
These amounts are very low, and you can always opt to add additional amounts to those required by the state.
Optional Car Insurance in Florida
In addition to increased coverage amounts, you can also elect to add additional types of policies to provide you additional coverage. Optional car insurance in Florida options include:
- Med Pay
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage
You can always talk to a representative if you are interested in these additional types of coverage. which options are right for you.
Factors Affecting Florida Car Insurance Rates?
There are quite a few factors used in the state of Florida to determine the amount you will pay for your car insurance policy. Aside from coverage and policy types affecting the amount you pay, the following also influence the amount:
- Marital Status
- City you reside in
- Educational Background
- Type of vehicle you are insuring
- Company that you insure with
No two people will pay the same rates for their car insurance coverage because of the various factors used to determine your amount. Comparing coverage options is a great way to save money when buying insurance.
Florida Car Insurance Discounts
The cost of car insurance is one reason residents of the Sunshine State might not have enough coverage. However, car insurance has a purpose and doesn’t have to be so expensive. If you were to be involved in an accident without car insurance, the cost of damages would be your responsibility to pay out of pocket. The last time you took a car in for repairs didn’t it cost you a small fortune? Imagine the expense of an auto accident! You can take advantage of some pretty attractive discounts to help you lessen the expense of car insurance.
Car insurance discounts in Florida include:
- Student Discounts: High school students who maintain a ‘B’ average or better are eligible for discounts of up to 20%.
- Defensive Driving Course Discount: If you complete a defensive driving course, the reward could be not only safer driving skills but also discounted car insurance rates. This applies only to adults 55 years of age and older.
- Drive Safe & Save: Another Florida car insurance discount is called Drive Safe & Safe. Under this program you can receive discounts when you agree to share certain information with your insurance agency.
- Anti-Theft Device Discount: Is your car equipped with an anti-theft device? If so inquire about your discount.
- Anti-Lock Brake Discount: Another feature that will enable you to receive discounted rates.
- Student Away at School: If you have a student who is 100 miles or more away from home for school, there is a discount you may qualify to receive.
Florida Car Insurance Quick Facts
Proof of Florida insurance must be presented to any law enforcement officer upon request. It must also be furnished if you are involved in an accident. Proof of insurance should be carried in your vehicle at all times. Most people use the insurance card provided by the insurance agency as their proof of coverage.
The average driver will pay $1,657 per year for the state required Florida auto insurance. This equals about $138 per month. Use the available car insurance discounts and comparison tools to ensure that you pay the average or less than the average cost for your coverage.
Proof of insurance is also verified through the state’s electronic database system, making it even more important to stay insured at all times.