Sports is big news in Indiana. The state is home to the Indianapolis Colts and the Indiana but the games aren’t so fun if you get in trouble for driving without auto insurance. It is illegal to drive in Indiana without auto insurance in place. In fact, the state requires proof of coverage to be shown before a vehicle can be registered. The state has set forth minimum insurance amounts that each and every driver in the state must carry. Without this required coverage you are in violation of the law and can face a number of penalties.
Indiana Car Insurance Requiremetns
To comply with the laws in place in the state, you must carry a liability policy that includes the following amounts:
- $25,000/ $50,000 Bodily Injury
- $10,000 Property Damage
- $25,000/ $50,000 Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage
You can choose to purchase additional amounts of coverage if you desire to do so. Many drivers find this beneficial since the costs of an automobile accident can be quite large.
Optional Car Insurance in Indiana
Want to ensure that you are fully protected during an accident? Optional coverage is available. This optional coverage will add cost to your policy, but may very well but just what you need to stay safe and protected. Optional types of insurance coverage includes:
- Rental Car coverage
Talking to an insurance agent can help you learn more about these policies as well as whether or not they can benefit your life.
Factos Affecting Indiana Car Insurance Rates
Auto insurance is not a one-size-fits-all type of plan. You may pay more or you may pay less than the average person. The reason? Many factors affect the cost of your auto insurance. Some of those factors include:
Age and Gender – If you are a driver under the age of 27, your rates are likely to be more expensive. Men also typically pay a bit more than women.
Educational Background- If you have a college degree you will pay less.
Type of Vehicle – The type of vehicle being insured is always a factor in determining auto insurance rates.
Amount of Coverage – You can elect to purchase a liability, state-required policy or more, which will determine the cost of your policy.
Insurance History – If you have a history of coverage lapses, you will pay more.
Indiana Car Insurance Discounts
Indiana requires auto insurance be carried at all times, but what isn’t required is that you spend an arm and a leg to pay for it. There are a number of auto insurance discounts that you can take advantage of to reduce the costs of your coverage. Here are a few auto insurance discounts that you might like to use:
- Good Driver discounts
- Defensive Driving Course discounts
- Paid in Full discounts
- Safety Device discounts
Indiana Car Insurance Quick Facts
A certificate of compliance must be filed with the state when any of the following occur:
- You have been involved in 3 accidents within the period of one-year
- You have committed a serious violation of the traffic laws
- You commit a violation when driving with suspended license due to no insurance coverage
If any of the above happens, this certificate will be mailed to your home and must be returned to the state. It serves as proof of financial responsibility with the DMV.
There are penalties for driving without the state-required car insurance. If you are found without coverage you will lose your driving privileges for a period of 90 days. If you have been suspended more than one time in a period of 3 years, you lose your license for a period of one year.