Louisiana is a vibrant, laid back state that is proud of the annual Mardi Gras celebrations in New Orleans and their delicious crawfish and other seafood specialties. But these things aren’t as easy to enjoy when you’re driving illegally. It might be hard to think that you are committing a crime, but if you drive without the stare required insurance coverage in the state, this is exactly what you are doing.
Driving without car insurance in Louisiana is a big no-no, and a decision you’ll come to regret. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle unless you have the state-mandated liability insurance policy. Auto insurance is required in the state because accidents are costly, even when they’re minor, and you’ll be paying out of pocket if you should become involved in an accident without it. Do not think of auto insurance as simply a burden; it is valuable protection.
Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements
In the state of Louisiana you must carry minimum amounts of auto insurance to be in compliance with the laws. This is known as state-required coverage, and includes a policy that contains the following amounts:
Bodily Injury: $15,000 for one injury, $30,000 for all injuries
Property Damage: $25,000
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $15,000/ $30,000
Optional Car Insurance in Louisiana
If you want more protection, not a problem. Optional auto insurance is available in addition to the mandatory policies. You may elect to add this coverage if you wish, but face no penalties if you decide against it. Types of optional car insurance includes:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
- Rental Car coverage
- Towing/ Roadside Assistance
Factors Affecting Louisiana Car Insurance Rates
Car insurance companies actually use a number of factors to determine the amount of your coverage. Some of these factors are controllable while others are not. Some of the factors that affect the cost of your auto insurance policy:
- Driving Record
- Where you Live
- Educational Level
- Insurance History
- Amount of Coverage
- Type of Coverage
- Deductible Amount
- Company you Insure with
- Type of Vehicle being Insured
Car Insurance Discounts in Louisiana
The cost of the most valuable protection around is not set in stone. In fact, you can reduce your costs by looking for car insurance discounts. There are tons of them available, each offering you a very nice discount on your monthly rate. Before making an insurance policy purchase, ask about the discounts you may be eligible for, and take advantage of them. Certainly you can think of a million other things to do with this cash!
Some of the available discounts that you might qualify for include:
- Loyal Customer discount
- Good Driver discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Multi-Driver discount
- Paid in Full discount
- Defensive Driving discount
- Good Grades discount
The amount of these discounts will vary from company to company, but it is possible for you to cut a nice chunk from the cost of your auto insurance policy.
Louisiana Car Insurance Quick Facts
You must show proof of car insurance in order to register your vehicle in the state of Louisiana. You will also be required to provide the same proof when it is time to renew your registration. Electronic verification is available if you renew online or if your vehicle was purchased from a dealer.
Proof of insurance should be kept inside of your vehicle at all times. The insurance company will generally provide you a card or a certificate that serves as the proof that you need. This proof must be shown to any law enforcement office upon request, as well as after you have been involved in an auto accident, whether or not you were at fault.
When you are stopped and unable to provide proof of insurance, the officer has two options:
- Give you a 3-day Temporary Vehicle Use Authorization
- Impound your vehicle
It is always wise to carry the state require policy at all times in order to avoid these penalties.
Louisiana has a No Play, No Pay Law. This law makes it impossible to file a claim for damages for the first $25,000 of property damage or $15,000 in bodily injuries. Passengers riding in a vehicle can still collect money for damages even if the driver was uninsured at the time of the accident.