You’ll want to take plenty of road trips to D.C., Jersey, Virginia and elsewhere when you live in the beautiful state of Maryland. As long as you have the proper amounts of car insurance coverage on your vehicle, taking these anticipated trips is easy to do! However, if you aren’t carrying the state-required coverage, you could be in for a world of trouble. Auto insurance is there to protect you, and the law says that you must carry it on any registered vehicle in the state.
Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
To be in compliance with the car insurance laws in place in Maryland, all drivers must carry a policy that includes at least the following amounts:
- Bodily Injury: $30,000 – 1 Person; $60,000 – 2 Persons or more
- Property Damage: $15000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist: $30,000/ $60,000
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $2,500
- You are always able to add more coverage, but you must have at a minimum the amounts listed above.
Optional Car Insurance in Maryland
Optional car insurance is also offered in the state. Choosing to add any of these types of policies might be beneficial to your needs.
- Rental Car coverage
- Towing and Labor
Talk to your insurance agent about each of these policy types and learn if they can be of benefit to your needs.
Factors Affecting Maryland Car Insurance Rates
If you are curious why everyone is given a different rate for their auto insurance coverage, the answer is simple: there are a number of different factors used to figure out rates. Since no two people have the exact same situation, rates fluctuate greatly.
Some of the things that you can expect to affect your car insurance rates:
- Age and Gender
- Educational Background
- Marital Status
- City that you reside
- Driving History
- Type of car being insured
- Insurance Coverage History
To ensure the lowest possible rates for your policy, make sure that you compare, obey all laws of the road and purchase one of the less expensive vehicles
Maryland Car Insurance Discounts
While it is mandatory that you carry auto insurance in Maryland, it isn’t mandatory that you spend an arm and a leg for such coverage. Whether you want a state-required policy or more, there are a number of nice discounts you can take advantage of to cut the cost of your policy. Ask your insurance agent about these discounts before making a purchase and you might be able to cut as much as 40% from the cost of your policy.
- Loyal Customer discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Paid in Full discount
- Safe Driver discount
- Anti-Theft discount
- Homeowners discount
These are just some of the many different discounts available. Get your savings!
Maryland Car Insurance Quick Facts
A Maryland Insurance Certification must be kept inside of your vehicle to serve as proof of your coverage. This certificate must be provided when registering your vehicle and when requested by a law enforcement officer. If you are involved in an accident, this proof must also be provided. The state of Maryland uses an electronic verification process as a secondary method of verifying coverage.
If you violate the car insurance laws in Maryland, there are penalties that you will face. You can receive a suspension of your registration and license plate if found driving without auto insurance, as well as face a fine of $150 for the first 30 days, and a fee of $7 per day thereafter, and a $30 fee to restore your driving privileges once auto insurance has finally been obtained. It is always best to avoid the headache and hassle by carrying the minimum auto insurance requirements at all times.