Did you know that the state of Mississippi has more than 326 birds that migrate to the state? How about the fact that the Mississippi River has 250 different fish species calling it home? These are just some of the interesting facts about the Deep South taste of Mississippi. In order to explore and enjoy all of these things and more, you must comply with the laws and carry auto insurance at all times. Auto insurance is required in the state of Mississippi. If you are a driver in the state, insurance must be carried on your vehicle at all times. Liability coverage provides substantial financial assistance should you be involved in an accident. In Mississippi, you must carry minimum amounts of a liability policy at all times. Other types of insurance can also be purchased for an additional cost.
Mississippi Car Insurance Requirements
The following liability policy must be purchased and carried at all times in all cities and towns in the state:
- $25,000/ $50,000 Bodily Injury
- $25,000 Property Damage
If you would prefer not to purchase an auto insurance policy, you can also post a surety bond with the state or pay a security deposit equal to the coverage minimums.
Optional Car Insurace in Mississippi
In addition to the mandatory coverage, you can add any of the following optional coverages to your policy for greater protection.
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist
- Rental Car coverage
- Towing/ Roadside Assistance
Individuals who finance a vehicle might need to purchase a collision/comprehensive policy, although it is not required by the state.
Factors Affecting Mississippi Car Insurance Rates
Individuals who purchase car insurance might be surprised to learn that a number of factors influence the cost of the policy. This is why no two insurance companies offer the same rates, and why rates differ so greatly between people. Some of the things that affect your auto insurance rates:
- Type of vehicle being insured
- Amount of coverage you desire
- Mississippi city that you reside
- Marital Status
- Driving History
- Insurance History
To ensure that you have the lowest possible rates, comparing, asking for discounts, and ensuring that you follow all rules of the road are things that you should do. Even one ticket or accident could be very costly to the wallet as far as auto insurance is concerned.
Mississippi Car Insurance Discounts
Just because insurance is mandatory doesn’t mean that you need to spend a ton of cash for a policy. Aside from comparing companies to determine who has the best auto insurance rates, there are a slew of discounts available that can keep your rates low. It is in your best interest to inquire of these discounts and take advantage of any that you qualify for. Available discounts in Mississippi include:
- Loyal customer discounts
- Good Student discounts
- Safe Driver discounts
Not all discounts may be available with each insurance company, so ask each company what they offer. It is easy to save up to 40% on the cost of your policy with these discounts, so why miss out on all of these savings?
Mississippi Car Insurance Quick Facts
If you choose to ignore the car insurance rules in Mississippi, expect consequences to come your way. Those penalties are very stiff, and include a fine of up to $1,000 and suspension of your driver’s license until you have complied with the state insurance requirements. Should your driver’s license be suspended due to violation of the car insurance laws, you may be required to file SR-22 coverage before your license will be reinstated. It may also be quite difficult to obtain auto insurance coverage in the future while also causing rates to skyrocket.