The Show Me state has a lot to offer its residents. What the state wants in return is for you to show that you are insured if you live in the state. Mandatory auto insurance must be carried by all licensed drivers in the state, from St. Louis to Joplin and every city and town in between. There are penalties for those who choose to ignore these laws and drive uninsured, and those are not consequences that you will want to endure. Many people are concerned about the costs of auto insurance, but trust when we say it is much more affordable than having to pay the costs associated with an auto accident.
Missouri Car Insurance Requirements
To stay legal in Missouri, make sure that you purchase a liability policy that includes the following amounts of coverage:
- $25,000 1 person; $50,000 all injuries- Bodily Injury
- $10,000 Property Damage
- $25,000 1 person; $50,000 all injuries- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist coverage
If you prefer you can add higher amounts of coverage, but this is the minimum. If you want additional coverage, there is also optional coverages that you can purchase.
Optional Car Insurance in Missouri
For greater peace of mind, take a look at the different types of optional car insurance in Missouri. While not required to carry, many drivers find them to benefit them greatly. This may be the case for you. Optional types of insurance coverage include:
- Rental Car reimbursement
- Med Pay
If you decide not to purchase car insurance, you can provide proof of financial responsibility by providing the state with a surety bond, a real estate, or a cash deposit. You can also provide a certificate of self-insurance if you are a religious institution or a business.
Factors Affecting Missouri Car Insurance Rates
No two people will pay the same amount for their Missouri auto insurance. The reason is due to the numerous factors used to determine auto insurance rates. The following are just some of the things that will affect the cost of your Missouri car insurance:
- Age and Gender
- Marital Status
- Educational Background
- Type of coverage purchased
- Amount of coverage purchased
- Driving history
- Insurance history
- Type of vehicle being insured
Missouri Car Insurance Discounts
One way to save money on the cost of your car insurance policy in Missouri is to take advantage of discounts available to you. Several different discounts are offered, so always ask about them before you compare or start a policy. Some of the Missouri car insurance discounts that you might be interested in includes:
- Multi-Car discounts
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Paid in Full discounts
- Loyal customer discounts
- Safe driving discounts
These are just some of the many different types of discounts being offered by auto insurance companies. Be sure that you inquire of any and all discounts that you might qualify for so not to pay more than you should for your coverage.
Missouri Car Insurance Quick Facts
Missouri car insurance proof must be carried in your vehicle at all times. Usually the insurance company will provide you with an insurance card. Keep this card inside of your glove compartment for easy access. You must be able to provide proof of insurance if you are involved in an automobile accident or if you are renewing your vehicle registration or license plates.
When you are caught driving without insurance in Missouri you are committing a crime. Penalties for driving without insurance can result in 4 points added to your driving record, driver’s license suspension and the order for an order of supervision. These requirements are in addition to fines that you will be assessed.
Individuals who have difficulty obtaining an auto insurance policy in the state due to failure to provide insurance can obtain a policy through the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan.