Montana Car Insurance

Montana

Montana is the Land of the Shining Mountains, but driving in this beautiful state can also wreak havoc on your vehicle. Mountain roads can be treacherous, from falling rocks to the heart pounding curves, making it important to have the proper vehicle insurance. Familiarize yourself with Montana’s auto insurance laws to make sure your coverage is in compliance with them.

Montana Car Insurance Requirements

To own and drive a car in Montana, you are required to have

Bodily injury insurance at $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident.

Required property damage insurance is $10,000 per accident.

For underinsured/uninsured motorists, the required amount is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Optional Car Insurance in Montana

These include additional liability coverage, medical expense benefits coverage, rental reimbursement coverage, comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Two laws regulate insurance premiums in the state of Montana. If you are 55 and older and complete a Department of Transportation approved traffic safety program, you qualify for a reduction on your premium. This law applies to everyone who meets these requirements no matter which car insurance company you purchase your coverage from.

The next law that regulates auto insurance premiums has to do with accident surcharges. If you are in an accident that wasn’t your fault and you submit a claim, your auto insurance agency cannot raise your premium or add a surcharge to your policy. If you think this has happened to you because of a not at fault claim, you may contact the Department on Insurance for more information.

Factors affecting Montana Car Insurance Rates 

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Coverage, Deductibles, and Limits
  • Vehicle Usage
  • ZIP Code
  • Credit History
  • Driving Record
  • Past Driving Claims

Along with this, you may be eligible for discounts. Some of the discounts available to Montana drivers are anti-theft device, safe driving, low mileage, good student, and driver’s education course discounts. There are many different money saving options out there when shopping for auto insurance, so shop around to find the right one for you.

If you unable to afford auto insurance through the voluntary market, you may be eligible for the Montana Auto Insurance Plan. This plan is handled by the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans. 

Montana Car Insurance Discounts

While you are required to carry car insurance, it isn’t required to spend an arm and a leg for your protection. Comparing is always an easy way to save, but it is certainly not the only way. Car insurance companies throughout the state offer discounts that can save you up to 40% on the cost of your coverage.

Here are some of the many car insurance discounts offered in the state:

  • Multi-Car
  • Multi-Policy
  • Loyal Customer
  • Safe Driver
  • Good Student
  • Paid in Full discount

Be sure to ask your insurance agent about these discounts and others that you might be interested in.

Montana Car Insurance Quick Facts

Montana state law requires you to carry your proof of liability insurance while driving. Your auto insurance company will you send you an ID card in the mail that identifies your insurance company and policy. Keep this card in an accessible place in your vehicle. If you do not have insurance and are caught driving an uninsured car, you could receive points on your driving record, a fine, or even jail time. Each time you are caught driving an uninsured vehicle, penalties become harsher.

When it comes to teens driving in Montana, there are two different classes of learner’s permits. When a teen is 14 ½ years old, they are eligible for Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL). The teen must currently be enrolled in a state education program and drive only when supervised by a parent or guardian.

After completing the program and the teen turns 15 years old, they are eligible for a Learner’s License. A Learner’s License allows the teen to drive with a licensed driver over 18 years of age. During this time, the teen must collect 50 hours of supervised driving, ten of which must be nighttime driving.