The Cornhusker State offers many different options when it comes to auto insurance. With such long distances between towns, it is important to have coverage that fits your personalized needs so you are covered no matter what you encounter on the back roads. There are also state laws that every Nebraskan has to follow. By learning the facts, you can be better prepared when it comes to purchasing the right auto insurance for your needs.
One of the biggest driving hazards in Nebraska is fatigue caused by boredom on flat, straight roads, like I-80. While driving on these types of roads for long periods of time, drivers become tired or start day dreaming, which may lead to accidents.
Another hazard is the weather. In the winter, Nebraska receives about four feet of snow on average. The ever-changing weather conditions, snow, and wind can make driving especially dangerous during the winter.
In the summer, severe thunderstorms and tornadoes wreak havoc on drivers and their vehicles. Storms change paths quickly, so it is important to take shelter in a nearby building as quickly as possible. Never try to outrun a tornado. If no shelter is nearby, lie in a ditch away from the vehicle and wait for the storm to pass.
Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements
Nebraska state law requires drivers to have liability insurance. These minimums are often written as 25/50/25.
This means all drivers must have at least
$25,000 of injury coverage per person
$50,000 of injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
These are the minimum coverage amounts required by Nebraska law, but you always have the option of buying more coverage when choosing auto insurance.
Optional Car Insurance in Nebraska
When choosing vehicle insurance in Nebraska, you also get a choice of optional coverage. These include
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Medical payment coverage
- Customized parts and equipment coverage.
Factors affecting Nebraska Car Insurance Rates
- Coverage, Limits, and Deductibles Chosen
- Credit-based Insurance Score
- How You Use Your Car
- Car Make and Model
- ZIP Code
- Age, Marital Status, and Gender
- Driving Record
While the above may affect your rates, you may be eligible for savings as well.
Nebraska Car Insurance Discounts
- Good student discount
- Paid-in-full discount
- Homeowner’s discount
- Multi-car discount
- Claim-free discount
- Multi-policy discount.
These discounts are simple to qualify for. Just ask your insurance agent.
Nebraska Car Insurance Quick Facts
Nebraska now allows electronic proof of insurance. While a physical insurance ID is still available to you, an electronic ID can be used as well. Most insurance companies in Nebraska offer a mobile app where you can easily access your policy and ID cards. So if you are someone who forgets to put their insurance card in their glove box, the mobile app option is perfect for you.
Teens can start driving at age 14 in Nebraska if they go to school outside a metropolitan area or live more than 1.5 miles from school. They can request a School Learner’s Permit (LPE) to legally practice driving. After two months, the teen can apply for a School Permit allowing them to drive only to and from school with a licensed driver over 21 years of age.
At age 15, teens can apply for a Learner’s permit, which allows them to drive with a licensed driver who is over 21. Once they turn 16, the teen can apply for a Provisional Operator’s Permit. During this time, they must acquire 50 hours of driving, 10 of which must be acquired at night. At 17 years of age, the driver is eligible for an operator’s license if they do not have more than three points on their record.
When shopping for auto insurance in Nebraska, there are a few laws to take into consideration. In addition, there are discounts you may be eligible for. Whether you are a teen or an adult, it is important to have the correct auto insurance to protect yourself and others.