There is no other state in our great nation like Nevada. Whether you are chugging up to the snow capped peaks near Reno, cruising through the expansive deserts in the north, or zipping down the freeway to lit-up Las Vegas, we have the perfect insurance policy for you. We have laid out what you need to know about Nevada auto insurance to help you easily find what you’re looking for.
Just remember, though, that the beautiful state of Nevada requires every driver to have at least minimum liability insurance coverage. We know that you have places to go and busy schedules to keep. This is why we make it quite simple for you to get the insurance you need so you can get back out on the road.
Please just make sure to keep your proof of insurance in your car as you travel down Nevada’s roads. We would never want you to pay fines for not having it on you.
Nevada Car Insurance Requirements
The following are the required minimum liability insurance limits. Each and every Nevada driver must have at least this basic coverage to drive:
- $15,000 per person in bodily injury liability
- $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability
- $10,000 per accident in property damage liability
You might notice that these limits will often times appear in writing as just 15/30/10. But as long as you have this coverage you can drive anywhere from Elko, to Carson City, and on down to Lake Mead.
Of course the 15/30/10 is the required minimum. A little extra doesn’t always have to come from or happen on The Strip. We offer plenty of optional coverage for you as well to provide that extra protection you’ve been looking for.
Optional Car Insurance in Nevada
Optional coverage can protect you when there is no one at fault in an accident, when you are at fault in an accident, or when you have to cover costs that aren’t covered by the other driver’s insurance policy. No matter the issue, we have the insurance policy to cover you. Here are just a few of the coverage options you can add as a Nevada driver:
- GAP – Guaranteed Asset Protection
- UM or UIM – Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist
- Medical Payments
- Rental Reimbursement
- Towing and Labor
Factors Affecting Nevada Car Insurance Rates
Nevada has a variety of factors that help determine what your auto insurance quote and eventual rate will be base upon. We would be remiss, though, if we didn’t mention that a major factor in determining your rate is based on your driving record. The best advice we can give is to just work on keeping your driving record clean. These are a few of the other rate factors:
- Marital Status
- Address (Zip Code)
- Previous Insurance History
- Make and Model of Your Vehicle
- Other Drivers Covered on the Policy
In addition, sometimes a credit check is required to help us determine the best rate for you. We are obligated to inform you if your credit report was used to determine a rate.
Nevada Car Insurance Discounts
It is no secret that things aren’t as cheap as they used to be. We know that you work hard for each dollar which is why we offer a variety of discounts to keep your insurance policy affordable. Here are just a few of the auto insurance discounts available to you.
- Good Driver Discount
- Multiple Car Discount
- Safety and/or Anti-theft Device Discount
- Multiple Policy Discount (Combining home, auto, recreation vehicle, etc.)
- Good Student Discount
- Driver’s Education Discount (Teens and 55 years and over)
Of course these are just a few of the savings opportunities we offer. Everybody has a unique life and a unique set of auto insurance needs. Either way, we encourage everybody to ask about available discounts because we want you to have the best policy possible.
A great way to ensure that you get the best rate is by maintaining a good driving record, always driving safely when on the road, and ensuring that you insurance coverage is up to date. Keep in mind too that many discounts are subject to availability.
Nevada Car Insurance Quick Facts
As we previously established, liability insurance is a must have for Nevada drivers. However, all Nevada drivers must also have Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage on their policies. This additional coverage can be rejected in writing by you, the policyholder, if you desire.
When you receive your insurance policy, Nevada state law requires that you keep proof of your coverage information in your car at all times. Neglecting to do so may result in a ticket if a Nevada police office requests that you show proof of insurance during a stop.
Driving without the Nevada insurance minimums can result in fines or a suspension of your license. Fines and penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada are based upon the duration of your lapsed insurance and/or the number of insurance violations you have in your driving record.
If you need auto insurance in Nevada, we have policies that meet all the requirements and offer the additional coverage that you want. Talk to one of our agents now.