New Jersey Car Insurance

New Jersey

The Garden State is home to the most dense population and highway system in the country. Combined with having the highest car-theft rate in the nation, New Jersey drivers have many reasons to buy auto-insurance coverage. If that’s not convincing enough, New Jersey law requires insurance for all drivers.
New Jersey Auto Insurance Discounts

If you’re like most New Jerseyans, you want to save money while still getting a great value. Luckily many discounts are available for drivers, helping you spend less on car insurance. When looking to buy coverage, be sure to look for these discounts and find out if they apply to you:

    Loyal Customer discount
    Safe Driver discount
    Multi-Policy discount
    Multi-Car discount
    Good Student discount
    Paid in Full discount

State Required New Jersey Car Insurance

All drivers in New Jersey are required to have car insurance. As required by law, your policy should include:

    $5,000 property damage liability coverage per incident
    $15,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage per person
    $15,000 bodily injury liability per person, $30,000 per incident
    Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

New Jersey is a “no-fault” state, meaning that any medical expenses as a result of an accident will be covered by your insurance company, no matter who was at fault for the accident.

Optional Car Insurance in New Jersey

In addition to the required coverage, you may choose to add additional protections. Ask about these coverage options to see if they are right for you:

    Comprehensive coverage
    Collision coverage
    Towing and labor coverage
    Additional PIP and/or medical coverage

What affects New Jersey Car Insurance Rates?

Car insurance rates depend on many factors beyond what kind of coverage you select. Keep in mind that the following factors may influence your individual rate:

    Age
    Gender
    ZIP Code
    Type of Vehicle
    Insurance History
    Driving Record

New Jersey Auto Insurance Information

New Jersey drivers must carry proof of insurance at all times. If you are pulled over without proof of insurance, you may be fined. If you are driving an uninsured vehicle, you may be subject to fines, license suspension, higher insurance costs, and community service.