New York has it all. No one can deny the immense pleasure in Manhattan or the fondness you discover in Niagara Falls. The islands are spectacular, and the smaller towns offer beautiful countryside. You can enjoy all that New York has to offer when you are insured.
Car insurance is required to be carried at all times on all registered vehicles in the state of New York. Without this insurance you are in violation of the law and may be subject to a number of penalties. Car insurance is designed to keep you protected should you be involved in a car accident. It just makes sense to carry it with you and comply with the laws of the state.
New York Car Insurance Requirements
New York has laws in place that regulate the amount of insurance you must carry on your vehicle. Currently you must have a policy that meets the following criteria to comply with laws in the state:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 for injuries to one person; $50,000 max for all injuries
- Death Benefit: $50,000 for one death; $100,000 for all deaths in the accident
- Property Damage: $10,000
- No Fault Coverage: $50,000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorists: $25,000/ $50,000
These amounts are considered to be low, especially considering that the average car accident costs hundreds of thousands of dollar. To fill this gap you can opt to add higher amounts to the state-required coverage amounts.
This liability policy will cover damages caused to the other party’s vehicle and not your own. If you want protection that will cover the costs of your damages, you may want to consider the addition of some of the state’s optional auto insurance policies.
Optional Car Insurance in New York
Optional car insurance can be added to your policy to better protect you in the event of an accident. Some of the types of optional coverage you might be interested in:
- Rental Car insurance
- Supplementary Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (SUM)
Factors Affecting New York Car Insurance Rates
Your auto insurance rates ae determined by a combination of different factors. It is for this reason that no two people share the same rates. Some of the things that have a bearing on the cost of your auto insurance:
- Age – Drivers between 16 and 27 pay more for their auto insurance than other drivers
- Gender – Men typically have higher rates than women.
- Marital Status –If you are married, a discount is offered.
- Insurance Amounts – The amount and type of insurance that is purchased also affects the cost.
- Type of Vehicle being Insured – the type of vehicle that you are insuring always affects the cost.
- Deductible Amounts – The higher your deductible, the lower your monthly payment will be.
- Driving History –If your driving record is filled with tickets and accidents, you are considered to be a high risk driver and will pay more for your coverage.
New York Car Insurance Discounts
New York car insurance discounts make it far more affordable to stay in compliance with the laws of the state. These discounts reduce the cost of your policy. It is always a wise idea to ask about any and all discounts that you might be eligible for before purchasing a policy. Each insurance company is different, but you can expect some of the following types of discounts to be offered:
- Multi-Car discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Loyal Customer discount
- Safe Driver discount
- Homeowners discount
- Good Student discount
Discounts are easy to get –just ask your insurance agent. They’re very much worth your while, since it is possible to save as much as 40% on the cost of your policy. Do not start a policy without first inquiring of the discounts you can use to save money.
New York Car Insurance Quick Facts
Proof of insurance must be kept inside of your vehicle at all times. This proof is generally an insurance card given to you by your insurance agency you must provide this proof of insurance after you have been involved in an accident or upon request from any law enforcement officer.
If you are found to be driving without the New York auto insurance requirements, you will lose your driving privileges and vehicle registration until the qualifications are met. A $100 fee is required to reinstate a driver’s license that has been suspended due to non-compliance with the New York auto insurance laws.