North Carolina is an outdoorsman’s paradise; a breath of fresh air for anyone who loves mountains, hiking, golfing, gardens, and more. The state is also home to top universities and many landmarks. Do you want to be known as a criminal? Perhaps being without the required North Carolina auto insurance isn’t quite this serious of an offense, but it is nonetheless a violation of state laws. Should you be found driving without state-required insurance in place, there are a slew of consequences that you could face. It is always best to stay on the good side of the law and maintain auto insurance at all times.
North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
To be in compliance with the laws in North Carolina, all drivers must carry a policy that consists of the following:
- Bodily Injury: $30,000 1-person; $60000 for all injuries
- Property Damage: $25,000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist: $30,000/ $60,000
These requirements help pay for injuries and damages to the other party involved in the automobile accident. They offer no assistance for your injuries or damages. If you wish to provide yourself with a bit of financial security, optional insurance is available to purchase.
Optional Car Insurance in North Carolina
Optional car insurance will tackle on fees to a state-required policy; however, it also provides you with greater peace of mind. Some of the types of option coverage that you might be interested in includes:
- Rental Car coverage
It is always in your best interests to speak to an insurance agent to discuss each of these types of policies and whether or not they can be beneficial to your needs.
Factors Affecting North Carolina Car Insurance Rates
The cost of insuring your vehicle in North Carolina is dependent upon a number of different factors. It is for this reason that no two people have the same insurance rates. Some of the factors influencing the cost of your auto insurance include:
- Marital Status
- Amount and Type of Coverage
- Type of Car being Insured
- Deductible Amount
- Driving History
- Educational Background
- City that you Live
Some of these factors are beyond your control, however some are not. If you want to keep your prices low, make sure that you keep your driving record safe. Also be sure to compare with at least three or four companies before purchasing a policy. You can also increase the amount of your deducible to continue the savings.
North Carolina Car Insurance Discounts
No one wants to spend an arm and a leg to pay for their auto insurance. To avoid such expense, take advantage of the available North Carolina auto insurance discounts offered. If you qualify, you could greatly reduce the cost of your insurance policy, whether you seek only state-required coverage or something more. Some of the available discounts in North Carolina:
- Loyal Customer discounts
- Multi-Policy discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Good Driver discount
- Paid in Full discount
North Carolina Car Insurance Quick Facts
Staying safe can pay off if you are a North Carolina driver, thanks to the Safe Driver Incentive Plan. Under this plan, drivers who remain free of accidents and traffic infractions receive low rates on their insurance, and avoid the accumulation of ‘points’ to their driving record.
In order to register your vehicle in North Carolina you will need to provide proof of insurance. The state will accept several different things as proof of insurance, including your insurance card, a copy of your North Carolina car insurance policy, a DL-123 form completed or an insurance binder.
If you are considered to be a high-risk driver in the state of North Carolina, expect your insurance rates to increase. State law forbids an insurance company from denying you coverage, but this doesn’t preen them from raising your rates considerably.
If you are found to be driving without the state required insurance in place, you are subject to penalties that include fines and the suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration.