North Dakota Car Insurance

North Dakota

The prairies of North Dakota sit so beautifully underneath the picture-perfect blue skies, making the site one that offers its fair share of bliss and harmony to residents. But when you are a law-breaker, a gray cloud seems to sit atop your head.

Auto insurance is often deemed a financial burden, but it actually protects you tremendously should you be involved in an automobile accident.

Drivers residing in North Dakota must carry auto insurance to comply with the state laws. It is illegal to drive without auto insurance, and a number of penalties can be accessed if you are found in violation of this law. It is never worth the risk. Always drive insured!

North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements

In North Dakota, you are required by law to carry a policy that includes, at a minimum, the following coverage amounts:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person; $50,000 all persons injured
  • Property Damage: $25,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 / $50,000
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $30,000

If you want more protection you can purchase higher liability coverage amounts. In addition, optional auto insurance is available for you to purchase.

Optional Car Insurance in North Dakota 

If you want more than what the state-required insurance has to offer, optional insurance can be purchased. Currently liability insurance provides financial coverage only to the other party involved in an accident. These optional types of insurance provide you with financial assistance.

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Towing and Labor

Your insurance agent can discuss each of these types of optional insurance, and help you add them to your policy if you would like. Remember there are also additional costs for this extra coverage.

Factors Affecting North Dakota Car Insurance Rates

Your North Dakota auto insurance rates are affected by several different factors. It is because so many factors are used that rates vary so much between individuals. Factors which influence your car insurance rates include:

Driving Record: If you have just one accident or ticket on your record, your rates could increase by as much as 30%. Those amounts only increase with each infraction received.

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital Status
  • Educational Background

Type of Vehicle: If you own one of the state’s most commonly stolen vehicles (Honda Accord, Chevrolet pick-up truck, etc.) or want to insure a sports car or luxury vehicle, expect to spend quite a bit more than others.

Where you live: Drivers in bigger cities spend more to insure their vehicles than drivers residing in more rural areas

Deductible Amount

Coverage Desired: If you add additional amounts or types of coverages your rates will increase.

These are just some of the many factors that influence the cost of your North Dakota auto insurance. To ensure that your rates are the lowest, always stay safe and obey all rules of the road. Make sure that you also avoid accidents and tickets at all costs.

North Dakota Car Insurance Discounts

Discounts for North Dakota car insurance make it easy for you to save cash, and plenty of it. Several different discounts can be taken advantage of if you want to reduce the amount of your policy. Popular North Dakota car insurance discounts include:

  • Paid in Full discounts
  • Loyal Customer discounts
  • Safe Driver discounts
  • Multi-Car discounts
  • Multi-Policy discounts
  • Good Student discounts
  • Safety Device discounts

Talk to an insurance agent about each of these discounts as well as the many others available. You can save between 5 and 40% on the cost of your coverage by using these discounts. Do not miss out on your savings!

North Dakota Car Insurance Quick Facts

Driving without auto insurance is a Class B misdemeanor in North Dakota. Drivers who commit this crime will face a fine of up to $150, an addition of 14 points to your driving record and suspension of your driving privileges.

Proof of insurance should be kept inside of your vehicle at all times, and presented when requested by a law enforcement agent or after being involved in an automobile accident, whether or not you were at fault for the accident.