Did you know that Oregon is home to more than 200 vineyards? If you love the delightful taste of wine, visiting these vineyards scattered about the state is an amazing time waiting to be had. Insure your vehicle, and you’re all ready to go. To ensure that you aren’t breaking any laws, make sure that you carry Oregon car insurance on your vehicle at all times. It is required by the state, and if you are without the coverage you could be in a world of trouble should an accident occur. Oregon car insurance laws were put in place to protect drivers from the financial burdens they can experience after an accident. If you choose to ignore the state laws and drive uninsured, penalties are in place that might make you change your mind.
Oregon Car Insurance Requirements
To be within the law in Oregon, all drivers must carry a liability insurance policy. The liability policy provides financial protection for the other party involved in the accident. Your liability policy should include the following amounts of coverage, at a minimum.
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person; $50,000 max for all injuries
- Property Damage: $25,000
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $15,000
- Uninsured Motorist/ Underinsured Motorists: $25,000/ $50,000
Optional Car Insurance in Oregon
In addition to the insurance policies listed above, Oregon drivers have the option of adding additional types of coverage to their plan. These optional types of insurance coverages include:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection
- Uninsured Motorist Property damage
Factors Affecting Oregon Car Insurance Rates
Why does Sally down the road pay $300 per year less for her coverage than what you’ve just been quoted? Auto insurance companies do not have a one-size-fits-all insurance policy. In fact, several factors are used to determine the amount of money you will spend to stay legal. Some of those factors include:
Age: The younger you are, the more money you’ll have to fork over to insure yourself.
Gender: Men typically pay just a bit more for their insurance coverage.
Educational Background: College-educated drivers are less expensive to ensure.
Driving Record: Your driving record can affect your insurance cost greatly, even if you have just one ticket or have been involved in just one accident.
Type of Car: The type of car that you are insuring will affect the price. Sports cars, luxury cars, etc. will always cost more to insure.
Insurance History: If you have several incidents of insurance lapses, you will pay much more for your policy and may find it difficult to find an insurance company to work with you.
Deductible Amount: Increase your deductible, and you assume more risk, but you also decrease the amount you will spend for coverage each month.
These are just some of the factors which greatly influence the cost of your insurance coverage.
Oregon Car Insurance Discounts
Wouldn’t it be nice to get a break for a change? Thanks to the many Oregon car insurance discounts, you will certainly get that much needed break. Discounts make it easy to save 5 to 40% on the cost of your coverage. Best of all, you need do nothing more than ask for the discount to enjoy the perks.
Some of the awesome Oregon car insurance discounts that you might qualify for include:
- Paid in Full discounts
- Loyal customer discounts
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Multi-Car discounts
- Safe Driver discount
- Good Student discounts
- Defensive Driving discounts
- Passive Restraint discounts
- These are just some of the discounts that you may be eligible for in the state. Ask your insurance agent for more information, and save every penny that you can.
Oregon Car Insurance Quick Facts
You must show proof of insurance when registering your vehicle in the state of Oregon. You must show that proof each time the vehicle registration is renewed as well. Most people use their insurance card as their proof.
Each month, randomly selected drivers are asked to provide proof of their insurance. If your name is selected, you must provide the state with your policy number and the name of your insurance company.