Rhode Island is the smallest state in the U.S., but one of the most important. About one third of the state is covered in water, which is important for seafood and fishing, and of course the great beaches and fun in the sun. Rhode Island residents who want to enjoy all that is offered in the state will carry the required insurance coverage at all times. In an effort to better protect its residents the state has adopted minimum insurance requirements that each and every driver who registers a vehicle must adhere to. Failure to carry the state required coverage could result in fines and suspension of your driving privileges. While you might think of it as nothing more than another burden and another bill, car insurance is one of the most beneficial products you can own.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements
The law states that Rhode Island drivers carry a policy that includes the following amounts:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 – 1 injury; $50,000 – all injuries
- Property Damage: $50,000
You are able to purchase additional coverage, which might be a good idea considering how much damage can be caused in an accident.
Keep in mind that the state required liability coverage pays only for damages that have been caused to the other party involved in the accident. If you want to protect yourself financially you will need to add optional car insurance to your policy.
Optional Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Optional car insurance is available, and can provide you with greater protection if you decide to purchase it. Types of optional coverage that you might be interested in:
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist
- Rental Car Reimbursement
If you are interested in these optional insurance coverage options, talk to an insurance agent to learn more.
Although not required by the state, it might be necessary for you to carry collision/ comprehensive coverage on your vehicle if it is being financed.
Factors affecting Rhode Island Car Insurance Rates
Numerous factors influence the cost of your Rhode Island auto insurance policy. It is because of these factors that insurance rates vary greatly among individuals. Those factors include:
- Educational Background
- Marital status
- Type of Vehicle being Insured
- City where you live
- Coverage Types/ Amounts
- Driving History
- Insurance History
- Credit Report / Credit Score
To help keep your rates low, follow all of the laws of the road so you avoid accidents and tickets. Even one accident or ticket can cause a significant increase in the cost of your auto insurance policy.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Discounts
Saving money on Rhode Island auto insurance isn’t difficult, thanks to the array of discounts available for you to enjoy. These discounts can provide you with a nice discount, and you need to do nothing more than ask for the discount. Why miss out on savings that are so easy to get? Some of the most common types of discounts offered in Rhode Island:
- Paid in Full discounts
- Loyal Customer discounts
- Multi-Car discounts
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Safety Device discount
- Good Grades discounts (for students)
- Low annual mileage discount
- Accident- Free discounts
Rhode Island Car Insurance Quick Facts
In order to register your vehicle in Rhode Island proof of insurance must be provided. Proof of coverage must also be provided when renewing that registration and carried in your vehicle at all times. The most common proof used is an insurance card that is provided to you by the insurance company. You will need to provide this proof upon request from any law enforcement officer or after being involved in an accident.