South Carolina is home to Myrtle Beach, one of the U.S.’s most popular travel destinations. However, residents of the state must have car insurance to have the same kind of fun. If you plan to operate a motor vehicle in the state of South Carolina, make sure that your plans also include the addition of car insurance. It is the law in South Carolina, and drivers who fail to meet financial responsibility and ignore these laws are subject to numerous penalties. Although auto insurance is an extra expense, it is very valuable because you never know when an accident will occur. Without this protection, you will be blown away at the costs of an auto accident.
South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
To stay legal in South Carolina it is mandatory that all drivers carry a liability policy with certain amounts of coverage in place. Proof of insurance must be provide when registering your vehicle. Failure to carry the state-required auto insurance can result in fines, driver’s license suspensions and other penalties. Your liability policy should include the following amounts of coverage to comply with state laws:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000/ $50,000
- Property Damage: $25,000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist: $25,000/ $50,000
- Optional South Carolina Car Insurance
Liability policies required by the state pay for damages caused only to the other person involved in the accident. This leaves you with a lot of money you come up with to make your own repairs. However, you can add optional insurance to your policy to provide yourself with protection.
Optional Car Insurance in South Carolina
- Rental Reimbursement
Talk to an insurance agent about these coverage options if you are interested.
Factors Affecting South Carolina Car Insurance Rates
- How are your car insurance rates determined? There are actually a number of factors used to determine the amount that you will pay for your insurance coverage. These factors include:
- Converge: The amount of coverage and type of coverage both affect your rate.
- Age: Drivers under the age of 27 typically pay more to insure their vehicles.
- Gender: men pay more than women for auto insurance coverage.
- Marital Status: Are you single? Expect to pay more.
- Type of Car: The type of ca that you are trying to insure will always affect the money you spend.
- Where you live: The area of South Carolina that you call home is also a factor influencing car insurance rates. Big city dwellers will pay more for their insurance.
- Deductible Amount: The higher the deductible, the lower the premium.
- Insurance Agency: Not all agencies offer the same rates. If you do not compare you are likely to pay far too much for your coverage.
South Carolina Car Insurance Discounts
Do you like to save money? If the answer is yes, you will love the opportunity to save on the costs of your car insurance through the use of discounts. Many different kinds of discount provide you with the chance to save, with discounts as great as 40%! It is a good idea to take advantage of each and every discount that you are entitled to. The most common car insurance discounts in South Carolina include:
- Multi-Car discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Paid in Full discount
- Loyal Customer discount
South Carolina Car Insurance Quick Facts
If you simply do not want to insure your vehicle, you have the option of providing a $550 payment to the DMV to registered as an Uninsured Motorist. If you are involved in an accident, you are still liable for any and all damages that result. Drivers must have had their license for a period of three years to be eligible to register, and you must not have any convictions for certain offenses.
When stopped by a police officer you are required by law to either show proof of automobile insurance coverage or your unregistered motorist’s certificate. You must also provide this information if you are involved in an auto accident