The rolling hills of Tennessee are nothing short of peaceful, especially when you’ve got the country music on the radio and the cowboy boots on, ready to go boot scoot and boogying the night away. But drivers who do not obey the laws of the state might not have as easy of a time doing this. Tennessee drivers must carry minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage on their vehicle at all times in order to comply with the laws in the state. Drivers who fail to obey this rule will face penalties which can include suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license.
Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements
To legally drive in Tennessee, you must have a policy that includes the following amounts of coverage:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000/ $50,000
- Property Damage: $15,000
Remember that these amounts are minimum and you can always add higher amounts of coverage to your policy if you so desire. Optional car insurance is also available.
Optional Car Insurance in Tennessee
Talk to an insurance agent about the following types of insurance if you want more coverage than what the state-required liability policy offers.
- Medical Payments
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorists
Factors Affecting Tennessee Car Insurance Rates
Several factors are used to determine the cost of your car insurance. Those factors include:
- Driving History
- Insurance History
- Type of Vehicle being insured
- Company you Insure with
- Educational Background
- Marital Status
- Where you live
- Deductible Amount
- Credit Score
Women typically pay less for their car insurance than men, as do drivers who are over the age of 27. You can also increase your savings by increasing the amount of your deductible. While this does add liability to your shoulders, if you are a safe driver it can mean significant savings each and every month. Avoiding tickets and accidents will also help you reduce the cost of your car insurance policy. Comparing policies between companies is also an essential step in getting the best car insurance rates as no two companies offer the same rates.
Tennessee Car Insurance Discounts
While the state does require auto insurance to be carried, you do not have to spend a small fortune to stay within the law. There are numerous ways for you to save, including with the use of discounts. All auto insurance companies offer them. It is in your best interest to ask about any and all available discounts, and take advantage of the savings offered. Potential discounts in the state include:
- Loyal Customer discount
- Safe Driver discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Paid in Full discount
- Homeowners discounts
- Good Student discounts
Tennessee Car Insurance Quick Facts
You do not need proof of insurance to register a vehicle in the state of Tennessee. Proof of the mandatory Tennessee auto insurance requirements should be keep inside of your vehicle at all times. Generally an insurance card is used as this proof. You must provide proof of coverage upon request from any policeman or after being involved in an automobile accident, even if you are not at-fault for the accident.
Should you choose to ignore the laws of the state and drive uninsured, expect consequences to come your way. Drivers who aren’t insured can face the following penalties:
STOP placed on your vehicle
Suspension of your driver’s license
It is always in your best interest to carry the state required car insurance at all times to avoid these penalties. Remember that it will also cost more to obtain insurance after being found guilty of the Class C misdemeanor, and you may be required to obtain SR-22 coverage for a period of no less than 3 years.