Some of the finest skiing in the world can be found on the beautiful mountains in Utah. The state is an outdoorsman’s dream come true, as the Great Salt Lake is another of the state’s claims to fame. But if you aren’t driving legally in Utah, enjoying the outdoors won’t come easily. Both liability and no-fault car insurance is required to be carried in the state of Utah. Drivers who ignore the car insurance laws are subject to a number of penalties. It is never worth the headache to drive uninsured. The coverage is there to keep you protected, after all.
Utah Car Insurance Requirements
To comply with the state requirements for car insurance, all drivers in Utah must carry a liability policy on their vehicle as well as no-fault insurance that includes the following amounts of coverage:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 1 Injury
- $60,000 all injuries
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $3,000
- Property Damage: $15,000
- $80,000 total for both Bodily Injury and Property Damage
Optional Car Insurance in Utah
The following types of insurance coverage are available for purchase to drivers throughout the state. While not required by law to be carried, these insurance policies can certainly benefit you in case of an accident. Optional types of insurance you might want to consider include:
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist coverage
Factors Affecting Utah Car Insurance Rates
If you’re wondering why rates fluctuate so greatly from person to person and from company to company, it is due to the factors used to determine your car insurance rates. Several factors are used to determine this cost. Those factors include:
- Age and Gender: Drivers 16 – 27 years old pay more to drive, as do men.
- Education: A college degree could result in lower costs
- Coverage: The type and amount of coverage that you want affects the cost.
- Driving Record: A clean driving record receives the lowest car insurance rates.
- Insurance History: Lapses in coverage could cause your rates to greatly increase.
- Residence: Salt Lake City residents will spend more to carry car insurance than those in smaller neighboring towns.
- Type of Vehicle: The vehicle being insured is also a factor used to determine your car insurance rates. The more expensive the car, the more expensive your coverage.
Utah Auto Insurance Discounts
Rather than pay full price for your Utah car insurance, take advantage of every opportunity to save. One of the easiest ways to cut costs is to use car insurance discounts. Many car insurance discounts offer savings of up to 40%. Ask an insurance agent about the different discounts you might qualify for. Most popular car insurance discounts include:
- Loyal Customer discount
- Safe Driver discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Multi-Car discount
- Good Student discount
- Paid in Full discount
Utah Car Insurance Quick Facts
Electronic car insurance monitoring is conducted throughout the state of Utah. Monitoring is provided by Insure-Right. If your insurance company reports a lapse or cancellation in your policy to Insure-Right, you are sent a letter in the mail and must correct the problem.
Proof of insurance coverage must be presented to any law enforcement agent upon request. Proof should also be provided after you’ve been involved in an automobile accident.
If you are found to be driving without the state-required Utah car insurance coverage, you are committing a crime and may face a slew of penalties. Penalties for driving without insurance include:
- $400 minimum fine (first offense)
- $1,000 fine (second offense and those thereafter)
- Driver’s license suspension
- Suspension of vehicle registration
If you are suspended for failure to carry Utah car insurance, you must prove that you have coverage as well as pay fines and other fees to reinstate your driving privileges.