Ben and Jerry’s began in Vermont many years ago. Now the world’s most delicious ice cream is served all across the states. Enjoying your Ben and Jerry’s is much easier when you’re not in hot water with the law. Is breaking the law on your list of things to do in the near future? If not, Vermont car insurance should be carried on your vehicle at all times. It’s the law in the state and lawbreakers face repercussions you will not enjoy. Auto insurance provides financial protection should you be involved in an accident. It is in place to keep you protected, not serve as a burden.
Vermont Car Insurance Requirements
To comply with the laws set forth in the state of Vermont, all drivers must carry a policy on their vehicle that includes the following amounts:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000/ $50,000
- Property Damage: $10,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $50,000/ $100,000
If you want to purchase higher amounts for added protection this is possible. You can also add additional auto insurance to your policy for even greater protection.
Optional Car Insurance in Vermont
Optional car insurance in Vermont that could benefit you:
- Rental Car coverage
- Towing and Labor
Talk to your insurance agent about each of these types of auto insurance to learn if they can benefit you.
Factors Affecting Vermont Car Insurance Rates
Car insurance companies do not draw numbers out of a hat to determine what you’ll pay. They actually use a combination of factors to determine how much your policy will cost. Some of the factors that can affect your Vermont auto insurance rates include:
- Driving Record
- Type of Vehicle being Insured
- Educational Background
- City you Reside
- Insurance Record
- Credit History
- Deductible Amount
To ensure that your rates are as low as possible, take advantage of the discounts above first and foremost. Then, make sure that you obey traffic laws so you can keep a clean driving record. Don’t allow your insurance to lapse and increase your deductible if you aren’t afraid of assuming a little bit of extra responsibility for your driving. Pay all of your bills on time and avoid debt to keep car insurance rates low.
Vermont Auto Insurance Discounts
The best things in life come with discounts. That is why so many awesome money-saving discounts can be found with car insurance. Yes, you heard it correctly: car insurance discounts are waiting to save you money. Before purchasing a policy, ask your insurance agent about any discounts they offer that you might qualify for. Some of the most popular and intriguing discounts include:
- Loyal Customer discounts
- Multi-Car discounts
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Anti-Theft Device discounts
Vermont Car Insurance Quick Facts
Vermont does not require drivers to present proof of car insurance when registering their vehicle in the state. However, it is required that proof be provided to any police officer upon request during a traffic stop, or after being involved in an automobile accident. Generally the insurance agency issues insurance verification card serves as the needed proof of policy.
Should you choose to ignore the Vermont car insurance laws, penalties are in place. Those penalties include:
- 2 Points accessed to your Driving Record
- SR-22 Required Filing
It is in your best interest to comply with the laws of the state and carry auto insurance with you at all times. It keeps you safe and protected, so why not add it to your life?