The Cascade Mountains. The San Juan Islands. The home of grunge music. Washington is a state boasting colorful landscapes with endless amenities for its residents – at least those driving legally in the state. What does it mean to drive legally? In the state of Washington it means that you have the state-required auto insurance in place on any vehicle that you have registered. These car insurance mandatory requirements are designed to provide you with peace of mind and protection and choosing to violate the laws could result in some pretty harsh penalties.
Washington Car Insurance Requirements
To comply with the laws of the state all drivers must carry a policy that includes the following minimum amounts:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000/ $50,000
- Property Damage: $10,000
Remember that this is liability coverage only and does not provide any financial support for damages caused to your property or for bodily injury. To add such support, take a look at the extra car insurance policies you can purchase.
Optional Car Insurance in Washington
You can add any of the following types of optional car insurance to your state-required policy.
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist
Factoring Affecting Washington Car Insurance Rates
Each and every Washington resident will pay a different amount to stay legal in the state. Several factors are used to determine what this amount will be. Factors which influence the cost of your car insurance include:
- Marital Status
- Educational background
- Driving History
- Type of Vehicle being insured
- Amount of Coverage
- Insurance History City that you live
- Company that you insure with
Comparing auto insurance providers is always a good idea because you can get to two more about the top car insurance agencies, as well as learn which company offers you the lowest rates. Remember to stay safe while you are on the road and avoid any and all traffic infractions and accidents. Even one can cause your insurance rates to spike dramatically.
Washington Car Insurance Discounts
Washington car insurance discounts are available for the asking. With these discounts, you have the chance to save a ton of cash on the cost of your insurance policy. Before you purchase a policy, make sure that you ask our insurance agent about the discounts listed below, as well as any others that you might qualify to receive.
- Homeowners insurance discount
- Multi-Car Policy discount
- Multi-Policy discount
- Defensive Driving Courses (available for drivers over the age of 55)
- Loyal Customer discount
- Paid in Full discount
- Good Driver discount
- Safety Device discounts
Washington Car Insurance Quick Facts
Keep proof of insurance inside of your vehicle at all times. This can be your policy or your insurance card. You will be required to show your proof of auto insurance if you are pulled over by a police officer or if you are involved in an accident. If you do not have proof of insurance inside of your vehicle you will have to go to court and prove that you did have coverage when pulled over. A fine of $25 is also accessed. If you did not have coverage on your vehicle, a fine of no less than $450 is ordered.
In addition, you may be required to file a special kind of insurance known as SR-22. Not only does SR-22 require regular reporting of your insurance status to the state, it is also much more expensive than traditional coverage.
Driving without the state-required Washington auto insurance is never a good idea. There are far too great of penalties to chance such an act. You should begin comparing costs and companies without delay. Nothing beats the taste of savings!