Wyoming’s wide open spaces are absolutely phenomenal to explore no matter where you live in the state. But if you are without the state-required auto insurance coverage, getting around could be a very costly task. Liability insurance is required by law for drivers in Wyoming. The liability car insurance helps reduce your financial burden should you be involved in an automobile accident. The state has set forth minimum amounts of auto insurance that all drivers must carry on their vehicle at all times to stay in compliance with the laws. Smart drivers know that having this state-required coverage in place at all times is the right decision.
Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements
Driving without the following car insurance in place is a crime in the state of Wyoming.
- Bodily Injury: $25,000/ $50,000
- Property Damage: $20,000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist: $25,000/ $50,000
A liability policy that includes the above amounts will help cover the costs of medical bills and damages to the other party involved in a car accident. This policy does not cover any of your damages. If you wish to add higher amounts of coverage this is certainly possible. Additional types of insurance can also be added to your policy.
Optional Car Insurance in Wyoming
If you want to be full protected while you are driving, optional Wyoming auto insurance is available for additional costs. Optional car insurance in Wyoming includes:
- Rental Car
- Med Pay
Talk to your insurance agent about these options types of auto insurance if you are interested.
Factors Affecting Wyoming Car Insurance Rates
Several factors are used to determine the cost of your auto insurance premium. Those factors include:
- Marital Status
- Driving Record
- Insurance History
- Type of Vehicle being Insured
- Your Wyoming city
- Educational Background
- Deductible Amount
These are just a handful of the things that can have a bearing on your car insurance rates. To ensure that your rates are as low as possible, make sure that you stay safe while on the roads, obeying all traffic laws. You might also want to increase the amount of your deductible, but understand this will also increase the amount of liability placed on your shoulders. Compare rates with different companies as well. These are the easiest ways to help yourself to incredible Wyoming car insurance rates.
Wyoming Car Insurance Discounts
- While you might think of Wyoming car insurance as nothing more than an extra expense, it is certainly beneficial should the unthinkable car accident occur. However, you can do your part to keep rates low by taking advantage of the many different Wyoming car insurance discounts available. Discounts include:
- Loyal Customer discounts
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Multi-Car discounts
- Paid in Full discounts
- Good Student discounts
- Safe Driver discounts
Ask your insurance agent about each of these discounts, as well as any others that you might qualify for. Every penny counts and these discounts could equal tremendous savings of as much as 40%!
Wyoming Car Insurance Quick Facts
Proof of proper insurance coverage must be kept inside of your vehicle at all times. It must be provided at the request of any law enforcement officer at any time. You’ll also need to provide proof after an accident. If you do not have proof of insurance, you are given a period of 7 days to prove that you did have coverage at the time. If you are found to be driving without the state-required car insurance in place, penalties are quite severe and can include a fine of as much as $750 and as much as six months behind bars.
Do not take any chances with your freedom and your wallet! Always carry the state-required insurance!